France Part VIII – Batobus, St-Germain-des-Prés, and Cathédrale Notre Dame

Friday, I decided to venture out and wander around the city again.   It was a beautiful day to be out, too.   I took the Batobus around, which is a sort of ferry boat that travels around the Seine River and makes stops at all of the main tourist destinations along the Seine.  It was a much better deal than getting a boat tour, because with a day pass, you can board and disembark as many times as you want.

Batobus Station Tour Eiffel

It was a beautiful day for a boat ride down the Seine River.

Looking off the back of the Batobus

Looking off the back of the Batobus

Pont des Arts

Pont Alexandre III

So pretty!

So pretty!

Looking off the back of the Batobus

Looking off the back of the Batobus

Musee d'Orsay

Musee d’Orsay

The Louvre

The Louvre

The Louvre Museum – This building is so unbelievably long, and it was impossible to fit it even into a few pics.

The Louvre

Musée du Louvre

Palais des Beaux-Arts

Another interesting bridge

Another interesting bridge

Canal Académie

View of the Canal Académie

Canal Académie

Looking down the Seine

Looking down the Seine

View of Île de la Cité when I hopped off the Batobus

After I hopped off the Batobus, I started walking along the Seine to the Pont des Arts, which is better now known as the “Love Locks Bridge”.  People started attaching locks inscribed with the names of themselves and their lovers to the chain linking on the bridge, and afterward throwing the key into the river as a symbol of their unbreakable love.   Although there are other bridges that have also started this trend, this is the original/ most famous one.  Apparently now it’s estimated there are over 700k locks on this bridge!  There were definitely street people selling locks for this purpose, hovering around the area.

The most perfect “love lock” for the Pont des Arts

Sooo many locks – I’m glad I wasn’t there when the bridge railing partially collapsed under the weight! I was here in May, 2014, and the collapse happened in June, 2014!

Here is a news video explaining a bit more about the collapse: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XyXuE-nJuec

Another view of the Louvre from the Pont des Arts

View back at the Canal Académie

After I stopped to see the Pont des Arts, I started walking back toward St-Germain-des-Prés, aka the adorable 6th arrondissement.

Voltaire’s Statue in the 6th

The sign at the square that held the below statue fountain.

Statue Fountain

Statue

I happened upon the galerie of the famous French photographer Yann Arthus-Betrand (how appropriate!) and had to take a pic…well not only because I recognized the name, but also because it had the street address on it so I’d remember where I had walked, because I knew I wouldn’t completely remember months after the trip!  Clever, non?!

Walking down the Rue de Seine into the area of St-Germain-des-Prés

Walking down the Rue de Seine into the area of St-Germain-des-Prés

Cute café

Pretty roses

Rose

Looking down the Rue de Buci

Café Le Molière

I had lunch at the restaurant Paul

Paul, the restaurant where I had lunch.

After I was done eating lunch, I started walking further down Rue de Buci.  I stopped to look at some stuff on the street (such as the signs below).  As I was browsing, along down the street came a man walking his little dog.

Though he was speaking French, I could easily understand that he was pretty perturbed with the dog, and fairly unreasonably so!  He was chastising the dog almost as if the dog were human. Ok, ok, most of us animal lovers have probably spoken to our pets as if they are human at some point in time or another.

But, this guy was really chastising the dog in such a way that it was very clear he was being ridiculously unreasonable….it was almost as if he was chiding the dog for embarrassing him, as if he’d patronize a real person, as if the dog had seriously offended his sensibilities and hurt his feelings!  It was SO hilarious (more so than I can convey here) that even the man and woman who were the shop proprietors and standing in the doorway looking out at the happenings, both looked at each other, and then looked at me, and we all made eye contact and it was immediately  and implicitly understood that we all had the same thought (even though I didn’t speak the language very well): “this guy is really nuts!!” and then after he had passed all three of us burst out laughing because it was just SO absurd the way he was speaking to this dog!  Really I can’t describe how out of the realm of normal pet owner talk it was.

Cute little metal signs

Walking along Blvd Saint-Germain – Look! It’s a Starbucks!  They really are everywhere.

Stopped at this cute little city garden and sat for a few minutes.

National Museum of the Middle Ages

Walking down the little street Rue de la Parcheminerie and saw this cute little Bookshop

I saw this cute bookstore, and had to pop inside to have a peek

I saw this cute bookstore on , and had to pop inside to have a peek

Inside Abbey Bookshop

Inside Abbey Bookshop – a Canadian owned, English language bookstore.

Cool old wine bottles

Cool old wine bottles

Can you imagine what a 1938 wine would have tasted like?!

I wonder if this was a good vintage.

Notre-Dame

Another cute English bookstore

Living statue - so odd.

Living statue – so odd.

Cool statue

Cool statue

Archway of Notre-Dame

Archway of Notre-Dame

What beautiful architecture!

Notre-Dame de Paris was among the first buildings in the world to use the flying buttress (arched exterior supports).

Amazing architecture

It was warmer out this day, so I stopped in a little café to get a little refreshing drink.  I ordered the limonade, and this is what I got…nothing but “pschitt!” haha!

"Pschitt!" lol!

“Pschitt!” lol!  Hilarious onomatopoeia/delicious lemon flavored soda water.

Another view of this beautiful cathedral.

Incredibly detailed!

Le Cathédrale Notre Dame was such a popular tourist destination (on a Friday at least) that the by the time I arrived in the afternoon, the line was far too long for me to have any motivation to go inside.  I’m sure it was quite beautiful inside too though!

 

Beautifully entangled trees near Notre Dame

Beautifully entangled trees near Notre Dame

Another Holocaust memorial, near Notre Dame

Another Holocaust memorial, near Notre Dame

Near Notre Dame on the Île-de-la-Cité I visited this memorial Mémorial des Martyrs de la Déportation (Memorial of the Deportation).

 

I wandered across to the Île Saint-Louis, walked down the Rue Saint-Louis en l’Île, which has some cute shops.

I saw a sort of fashion shoot going on in the streets near Notre Dame, and had to snap one of my own pics

I saw a sort of fashion shoot going on in the streets near Notre Dame, and had to snap one of my own pics.

Rock Shop

Rock Shop

Pretty Rocks

Pretty Rocks

Galerie Alain Carion - the rock shop

Galerie Alain Carion – the rock shop

More Notre-Dame

More Notre-Dame

Pont des Arts

Pont des Arts

On the Batobus making my way back to the Eiffel Tower stop

A few more pics of walking around the Seine near the Eiffel Tower.

Street signs at the corner across the river from the Eiffel Tower

Statue

Statue in front of the tower

Grand tower

Beautiful river

Beautiful river

Bike trail along the Seine

Colorful boat

Beautiful evening for a stroll

Evening along the Seine

Another shot of the tower

City of old and new

Beautiful river

Beautiful river

This next picture so wonderfully captures the essence of the city of love and lights.

In the City of Love and Lights, this is the perfect pic

Love under the lights

View of the Eiffel Tower from Pont de l’Alma :

And so the sun sets on another beautiful day in Paris.

Leave a Reply

